Rear-view mirrors: Double side mirrors are REQUIRED when the rear window is tinted. With over 20 years of experience in the window tinting and paint protection industry, we can help you find the perfect shade that will make your car stand out, give you extra protection and stay within the legal limits of your condition. Our friendly and knowledgeable technicians can answer any questions you may have about window tint laws in your state. As you can see in most states, laws regarding the tint of windshield glass in North Carolina are easy to follow: you can apply a non-reflective window film to the glass manufacturer`s AS-1 line, which is a line about a few inches below where the glass meets the roof. If you cannot determine the position of the AS-1 line, use five inches as a reference for the thickness of the color strip. The same rules apply to the colour of the windscreen for all types of vehicles. And keep in mind that most cars, trucks, and SUVs are advanced with a factory tint on the windshield, so it may not be necessary to apply that window tint anyway. (If your vehicle doesn`t have a factory tint, consider applying legal non-reflective window film, as this tint reduces glare from the sun, relieves eyes, and makes driving safer.) The chances of being arrested just for your window movie are pretty slim unless you have some sort of outrageously illegal movie. So, if you have applied some sort of darker window tint than recommended to your vehicle, it would be prudent to follow traffic rules.
However, if you are arrested, it would be advisable not to give the reason officer to bother you with a repair order. Tinted windows can only use colors in film, but drivers must not violate state laws by using red or yellow. We provide dyeing services throughout the state of North Carolina with our many locations including Burlington, NC, Concord, NC, East Charlotte, NC, Fayetteville, NC, Kernersville, NC, Lake Norman, NC, Marion, NC, Matthews, NC, Raleigh, NC, Southend Charlotte, NC, Southport, NC, Uptown Charlotte, NC and West Charlotte, NC. North Carolina requires a photo exception for light-sensitive people. The best way to tint your car is with darker window tints so you can avoid glare from the sun when driving at night or in places where sunlight may be scarce. In addition to VLT laws, North Carolina has other important rules that apply when tinting windows. Vehicles with post-factory window tint applications must be inspected during a safety inspection in North Carolina for an additional $10 fee to ensure they meet the specifications set by the state in GS 20-127. WARNING: Your state`s laws on window tint may change daily. These rules and regulations may be interpreted differently by city or district authorities. We recommend that you verify the accuracy of this information with your local VDD or local law enforcement authorities.
This information on window tint laws was last updated on the day of 2021. If you find any of this information to be inaccurate, please let us know so we can update it! North Carolina first enacted window tint laws for cars, trucks, SUVs, and other vehicles in 2001, and while North Carolina`s tint laws still apply to most modern window films, you know that tint laws can change from year to year, and some new types of tints didn`t exist when the North Carolina hue laws were created. To make sure your vehicle complies with North Carolina`s current window tint law, it`s a good idea to know the exact VLT% (or visible light transmission percentage, i.e. brightness and transparency or dark, private glass) and make sure you follow the VLT% rules for each window in your vehicle type. Car windshield film is a good investment for anyone thinking about both the short-term performance and appearance of a car and the long-term appreciation of the vehicle. In North Carolina, the automatic tint adds privacy and enhances same-day styling, lowering cabin temperatures even during the long, hot southern summer days, keeping the car cooler, more comfortable and more cost-effective, based on reduced battery and fuel savings through reduced air conditioning consumption. In the long run, window tint blocks 99% of the ultraviolet light that causes discoloration, bleaching and tearing of the interior on upholstery and hard surfaces, allowing a vehicle to retain its appearance and sale value inside. Car window tint is a great investment, but since illegal window tinting in North Carolina can result in hefty fines, you need to make sure your vehicle`s window tint complies with NC window film laws. North Carolina has a few more laws regarding tinted car windows. You have to follow all the regulations and it`s also important to understand them before letting your windows tint so you don`t have any problems later! Illegal hue: red, amber, yellow. Reflective tint: On no window, the film can be more than 20% reflective.
Side mirrors: If the rear windows are tinted, the vehicle must be equipped with two side mirrors. Medical exemption: If you have a medical condition that requires additional UV protection, you may be eligible for a medical exemption that exempts your vehicle from standard dyeing laws. You must have an authorized waiver form signed by a doctor in North Carolina. To obtain approval, an applicant must write to the Driver Medical Assessment Program and ask their physician to complete the required medical assessment form provided by VDD. If your vehicle`s rear window is tinted, North Carolina rules state that you must have two side mirrors in good condition. The hue colors of red, amber, and yellow windows are prohibited by North Carolina law, as are the shades of those colors, and since highly reflective hues are illegal, some metallic hues are also illegal.